Skip to content

Cleaning & Preparing Squid?! Yes, Squid ;)

November 11, 2011

This is my absolute favorite way to eat Squid.  It’s what I remember Dad eating for Dinner–heck, Breakfast and Lunch too (who am I kidding)?

It’s something so familiar to me that it long ago lost its novelty.  This version is the way I grew up eating it.  It’s my number one contender to the oh-so-familiar fried variety.

What’s needed:

  • Thawed whole Squid
  • Medium Yellow Onion (any sweet Onion works well)
  •  2-3 Garlic Cloves (I’m obsessed with Garlic so if it were up to me, I’d throw in 10), lol
  • 1-2 ts of Sesame Oil
  • 2 tb of Red Pepper Paste (Gochugaru)
  • 2 ts of Sugar, Honey, or Agave
  • S & P to taste
  • Optional: Sesame Seeds, Red Pepper Flakes, Scallions.

Note
The heat from the pan will eventually “melt” the paste to create a sauce.

My personal belief is that this is best served super Spicy & super Garlicky.  I am certain I am the minority on that 🙂

From → Easy, Korean Food, Spicy, Squid

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

