Skip to content

Bánh mì, for ME

November 12, 2011

Sure, I enjoy a bowl of steaming hot soup on a cold day as much as the next guy but the weirdo-me really likes cold things when it’s cold.  I 100% acknowledge the insanity of this.  Also considering the fact that I detest cold weather promotes this to a level of clinical insanity (I suppose).

Enter the humble Bánh mì.

I love Bánh mì because it’s one of those light and refreshing individual bundles that’s all reserved just for you.  What I don’t love is the mystery meat in it.  Rather than deconstruct this matter, I took things into my own hands.  I stuffed my own version with…wait for it….


Galbi!  Often times, my rationale is this.  If I love this, and I love that, they should hook up (in a not a one night stand but forever kind of way).  Now, my baby brother escalated this idea and obsesses over Brownies doused in Hot Sauce.  I don’t get it, but hey, no judgement here.


So here is my simplified version of Bánh mì (no Chocolate and Hot Sauce involved)

You will need:
-Beef Marinade

  • 1 lb of Meat
  • 1/2 minced Onion
  • 3 cloves of Garlic
  • 1/4 cup of Soy Sauce
  • 1 1/2 ts Sesame Oil
  • Sesame Seed & Black Pepper to taste
  • 1/2 grated Asian Pear (in a pinch an apple works)

Sriracha Mayo

  • 1-2 ts Sriracha
  • 1/4 cup full fat Mayo

Relish

  • 2 Carrots
  • 2″ piece of Daikon Radish (both grated)

Crusty Bread

Cilantro

Fresh Jalapenos


From → Easy, Galbi, Korean, Vietnamese

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

