Skip to content

Oh Pumpkin, How I LOVE thee!

November 12, 2011

Confession #671: Last year, I rounded up all my neighbors and friends unused Pumpkins after the Holidays and Roasted, Froze, and ate them all year round.

Now, a Hubbard Squash is definitely more palatable and it is a definite must to wash and take care to prevent consuming rotten Pumpkins, but I was one of those odd children that, after seeing the Holidays roll over, was extremely saddened by the sight of all the discarded things-be it Christmas Trees or Pumpkins.  This stuck with me as an adult and I always strive to #1). reduce waste #2). utilize most, if not all things possible.  Needless to say, repurposing in my house hold is a common practice.

Unfortunately, I had no such luck this year and found myself in the baking aisle and came out breathless with a few too many cans of pureed pumpkin.  Excitement and over enthusiasm for the opportunity to take advantage of the Season to make Pumpkin everything got the best of me.  I now have 12 cans of Pumpkin sitting in my pantry.  ((don’t judge me)) =D

My favorite time of the year has been christened thus far with: Pumpkin Milkshakes, Pumpkin Scones, Pumpkin Whoopie Pies, Pumpkin Cream Cheese Frosting, Pumpkin Loaves, and what I will be sharing today: Pumpkin Spice Syrup & and Iced Pumpkin Spice Latte –enjoy!

1 cup Water
1 cup Sugar
(both for the Simple Syrup)
2-3 sticks of Cinnamon
1/2 ts of ground cloves
1/2 ts of ground ginger (or if you’re feeling adventurous, fresh ginger)
1/4 ts of freshly grated Nutmeg
3 tb of Pumpkin

*This makes 1/2 cup of concentrated syrup and I personally use 1-3 tb at a time so I make small batches to ensure freshness*

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

