Skip to content

Maeuntang

December 2, 2011

Mae oooh…what?

Basically Maeun = Spicy & Tang = Soup

I know, I know, when I break it down like that, the whole world starts making sense, huh?  LOL I kid, I kid.

So, a few blogs ago, I blogged that where I live, the weather is a bit erratic.  That’s an understatement!  Just a couple days ago, it was 70 and today, it was 48.  I’m a true Southern Gal and cold weather scares me.  (Anything not 70 is scary weather to me, basically).  I’m from Texas where the one time I can vaguely recall it snowing, people completely freaked out.  It’s days like this week—cold, gray, and rainy that I cling to comfort food–my version of comfort food.  Spicy Fish Soup.  Yup yup =D

Here’s how to get your own comfort

For the paste:
2-3 tb Pepper Paste (Gochujang)
1 tb Garlic
1/2 ts Ginger
1/2 ts Fish Sauce
1/2 ts Soy Sauce
—>whirl all in a food processor until smooth.  Lumps are ok.

For the Stock:
7 c Water
2 ts Anchovies
+ 2 pieces of Kelp (optional)

1/2 of a small Moo (Korean Radish, Daikon, Etc)
1 small/medium Onion
2-3 Green Onions
2 Korean Peppers or Hot Peppers
1 package Enoki Mushrooms (You can also use the Button variety in a pinch)
Bundle of Watercress
1/2 lb Clams
1/2 lb Shrimp
2 small/medium Croaker, Snapper, Bass, Cod, Pollack (or whatever fish you like, really)
2 ts Pepper Flakes (Gochugaru)

To make this less spicy you can leave out the Hot Peppers, Pepper Flakes or dilute with more Stock (just be careful bc you don’t want all of your nice ingredients to be completely submerged in Broth).

Love ya’ll & Hope ya’ll have a Spicy Day!  (Both in, and out of the Kitchen) =D

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

