Skip to content

How to Make Korean Stir Fried Noodles

January 3, 2012

I got a few requests recently for a Veggie Video.  Sometimes I’ll snack on baby Carrots with Ranch.  I didn’t suppose that would make for an interesting video–at all, lol.  I thought about it and the realization that there are volumes and volumes of Korean recipes that spotlight Veggies started flooding my notebook.  How to choose, how to choose?  Simple.  I almost always narrow down video choices to what I feel like eating that day.  (Hope that answers that question) =D

This dish is great.  When I was compiling a list for future videos, a lot of them were Mama’s favorites—fermented Veggies, Spicy Veggie Banchan, Fried Veggie Pajeon, Hot Veggie Soups.  Those, I promise will come.  This dish is great bc it displays such a colorful variety of fresh Veggies (an awesome way to sneak in allll sorts of Veggies), it’s fun to eat (and slurp with the Kids)! and like I mention in the video, it takes 20 minutes!  Oh, and not to mention, the one below will yield leftovers that are still great for days!  I invite you to try: Jjapchae, Jap Chae, Chopchae ….however way you spell it, one word that describes it?  Yummy =D

You will Need:

  • 2 cloves Garlic
  • 1 1/2 c Onion
  • 2 bundles of “Dangmyeon” or Sweet Potato Noodles (you could also use Vermicelli, Glass Noodles)
  • 1/4 c Sesame Oil (this bit will be used for lubricating your hot cooked noodles to prevent clumping)
  • 1 c Bell Peppers (Yellow and Red are especially pretty)
  • 1 c julienned Carrots (just make sure to use a thick plate for firm matchsticks…if you cannot obtain one, you can always hand cut them).
  • 2 c Shitake Mushrooms (you can use whatever variety of Mushrooms you like or are within your budget/accessibility.
  • an entire package of Fresh Baby Spinach (I love Spinach and it’ll also wilt down).
  • 1/4 c measure of Soysauce + 2 tb Sesame Oil + 2 tb Sugar, mixed to combine and added evenly between the stir fried Veggies…if you have any left overs, drizzle it in too!
  • 1/4 c reserved Noodle Water
  • Pepper & Sugar to taste (I like to Pepper each layer and I used about 3 ts or so of Sugar but it’s all up to how you like it)…as well as Sesame Seeds (optional)

Go crazy and add in whatever you like or want!  It’s always a great idea to scour your local Grocery Store or Farmers Market and hand pick produce that looks beautiful to you.  Add that in there!  I’ve almost always had it this way ^^ but I’d also eat sweeter versions, or versions that included Surimi (imitation Crab) or Beef.  

Slurp Lots & Have Fun!

Love, your back to health and happy Squishy Monster!!!

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

