Skip to content

What’s Sticky and Spicy and Hot all over??…

February 16, 2012

If you guessed Ddukbokki, you’d be right!!!….did you think it was something else? 😉

I’ve only gotten food poisoning twice in my life.  Both instances just happened to coincide with Vacations.  The first time, I was in New York visiting family for Christmas.  It was eventually revealed that undercooked Brownies were to blame.
The second time was in Korea.  We had gotten Ddukbokki from a Street Vendor (it’s an extremely popular Street Food there).

Needless to say, I quickly developed a great dislike for both.  It took me a really long time to sink my teeth into a fudgy Brownie or even muster up a smile for a bubbling, screaming Red bowl of this Spicy and Sticky goodness.  I’m happy to say that I’ve since gotten over it so cue the delicious Ddukbokki!!

You will need:

  • 4 c Rice Cake Sticks, found in the refrigerated/frozen section or near the Rice shelves (unrefrigerated)
    • You must soak these for 30 min

For the Stock:

  • 5 c Water + 5 large Anchovies
  • 1/2 Onion
  • 1 Garlic
  • 3 Crab Sticks or 1-2 sheets of Fish Cake 
  • 5 tb Red Pepper Paste (Gochujang)
  • 1 tb Fish Sauce
  • 2 tb Sugar
  • 1 tb Honey (or Corn Syrup, Agave, or Rice Syrup–whatever you have on hand)
  • 2 tb Sesame Oil
  • 1 tb Sesame Seed (more if you’d like)

 —>Optional:: Green Onions, Cabbage, Carrots, etc.

You can definitely sub a portion of the aforementioned ingredients for whatever you’d like.
Anchovy Stock = Veggie/Chicken Stock
Crab Sticks/Fish Cake = (Hot Dogs, Beef, Chicken, etc)
Fish Sauce = Soy Sauce

2 Comments
  1. Hi Angie!!! You have a special gift! You can read my mind, I was wondering if you could make your version of tteokbokki. 🙂 And here it is!!! Thank you for being so wonderful person! I'm totally your fan!!!<3 Saranghae <3~Nabi~

  2. You are so kind, Nabi! Thank you so very much for reading my thoughts. I'm amazed that anyone even cares, lol. You always brighten my day—YOU are wonderful!!

Leave a Reply

